Real world measurements and cursor coordinates display

Hi.

I am a coin designer at a major mint and I would love to be able to have Nomad sculpt in my toolbox, but the only thing limiting me is the ability to scale things based on millimetres/fractions of a millimetre.

I also need to be able to see how high a part of my surface is on the Z axis.

If there was a cursor coordinates display option that could be attached to stats that would be awesome. Just an x,y,z readout of where your cursor last touched would be enough.

If these 2 things were in Nomad Sculpt it would make me a very happy coin designer!

2 Likes

Meanwhile you could do a measured coordinate ruler model in you fav prog and import this to Nomad. This way you could “calibrate” the internal measure tool by comparing with the important model.

It’s not the coolest ever workaround but done very often in apps missing the measurement tools, unit setup, one wants to.

1 Like

Thanks for the suggestion.

That is an option but doesn’t seem very precise.With coin production it has to be exact.

Also having to use the measure tool every time I need to check how high the relief is would take forever.

While sculpting a coin you might only have .3 of a millimetre max relief height and for different bumps and crevices to be read correctly and not be destroyed by the polishing process they need to be at least .03 of a millimetre.

As you can probably tell I am constantly checking the relief height while sculpting.

1 Like

As well as Knacki’s external ruler solution, you could use a set of planes set at different “heights”.

You can easily input heights in the transform menu (see pic attached) with an accuracy of 0.0000. When needed, toggle the planes on/off to check your relief heights.

1 Like

That’s a good idea. Still clunky but I will give it a shot.

I might set the max height plane to be transparent, that way you will be able to tell when it is too high without having to access the objects menu.