Which settings to modify for better Tube fidelity?

I’m very new to Nomad Sculpt, so my question might have a really obvious / simple answer. I do 3D lettering and was really excited at the prospect of using the Tube tool to freely draw cursive (or otherwise) letterforms, rather than having to use Blender’s 3D bezier pen to manually draw my strokes. However, when I draw a nice-looking path with the Tube tool, it becomes sort of a jumbled and over-simplified mess once I lift the pen and generate the actual Tube. I’ve tried to modify the lazy pen, snapping, smooth, and validation box settings but am getting more or less the same results. I just want the output tube to look as close as possible to the path I’ve drawn. I’m definitely missing something here, right?

Not sure if this will help for what you want. You can edit the tube handles and add segments, size and delete before you validate the tube. It may give you easier control. :man_shrugging:t3:

1 Like

Another thing to note is that there will be better freehand tube generation in the next 1.52 update :+1:t2:

1 Like

There is no free adjustment for the simplifying curve algorithm.
It’s in developers hand only.
Which is a plus for newbies and a mess for everyone looking for different results, like you.

I would love to see an interpolation option to adjust the interpolation precision ( along drawn curve ) before or after one have drawn a curve. Interpolation should be independent to curve sides to create a very smooth four sided path.

This is a standard but not in Nomad. There must be a reason which I don’t know.

It’s no fun as long as you want to draw organic, but also precise lines like in calligraphy.

New version comes with a new hard coded simplifying algorithm in same style.
Quite useless for you.
You can test it here:
https://stephaneginier.com/archive/nomad_demo/
There is no svg import as far as I know.
So no workaround option.

Two ways left like said: