Traditional Sculptor learning 3d modeling questions

Hello there,

I’m a professional clay sculptor for the film & collectible industries with over 15 years experience & I just discovered Nomad which I feel is an amazing program & so much easier to use than all other 3d programs……I am a complete noob to 3d although I have played with zbrush a wee bit.

I have a few questions I was hoping you guys could answer….

1. I want to start to incorporate Nomad & 3d printing into my work process…… My main goal is to print items in order to create duplicate molds for Maquettes, props & costume parts.
    Do I need to use any other programs like Zbrush in order to achieve this? Or can I achieve this with Nomad alone ?

2. For a full body Maquette, do I have to cut it up into separate pieces or can I print it all in one piece?

3. What is the standard program for creating the building / printing posts?

Thanks again & I hope to share my Nomad work on here as I learn the program…!

How you digitally sculpt and how you print will likely hinge entirely on what kind of printer will be used.

The KIND and model of printer deployed will dictate its BUILD ENVELOPE — the physical material volume the printer is capable of outputting.

The first fork branches between filament (FDM) 3D printers and resin (SLA) 3D printers. In the hobbyist realm, FDM have generally had larger build envelopes over SLA, but the (fine) resolution detail falls overwhelmingly in SLA’s favor. In the unobtainium commercial realm, SLA has actually been around much longer used in industries with very deep pockets.