Newbie questions about 3D

Hi everyone,
I just started learning 3D modelling with Nomad and it is great. I mostly sketch in Procreate (you can find my art here https://www.instagram.com/budzinskiwiktor/) and I am looking for a way to make my sketches more „finished”. Maybe 3D will allow me to do that :slightly_smiling_face:

I dont have any experience with 3D, but it seems that most 3D artists use several softwares to get a final result. Names I see around are ZBrush, 3DS Max, Substance Painter, Maya, Blender, Keyshot, Cinema 4D, Houdini and so on. Can someone tell me what else will I have to learn apart from Nomad to be able to produce finished work? My understanding is that programs like Nomad are used for sculpting and then some other programs are used for textures and rendering - is it correct?

My main inspiration right now is Nikita Veprikov, so my question is with regard to creating something in a style like this https://www.instagram.com/p/B6adEgzjhqK/?utm_source=ig_web_copy_link

Thanks for help :slight_smile:

1 Like

Nice instagram!

I would say the skills acquired in Nomad should translate well to ZBrush.

This is how I see things:

ZBrush: Sculpting and high poly hard surface (can do automatic Retopo and UV unwrap)
Substance Painter: Texturing
Keyshot: Rendering (often used by ZBrush because of the ZBrush to KeyShot Bridge)
3DS Max: Everything, but best for hard surface modeling?
Maya: Everything, but best for animation?
Houdini: Everything, but with procedural in mind
Cinema 4D: Everything, best for VFX?
Blender: Everything, best on modeling I would say

Blender is the only one free in the list.
There are many combination possible, and i’m not an artist myself so I won’t give any advices :stuck_out_tongue:.

For Nikita Veprikov, it seems it’s mostly around ZBrush, Photoshop and 3ds Max according to its artstation ArtStation - Nikita Veprikov