From Nomad to resin models - so cool!

Hi all!
So just 10 days ago I was posting the picture of my second ever digital sculpt, and now, after a relatively short but VERY intense self-taught session on 3D softwares and resin printing, I managed to print my first model and I’m over the moon :slight_smile: I think for starting from absolute 0 about 3D modelling and printing, it’s a pretty good result for under 2 weeks of studying and with a little effort anyone can do it.

It’s not perfect at all since some of the supports failed and messed up some of the layers, but some light sanding managed to salvage the biggest imperfections and she will look very smooth after priming. It’s so cool to able to sculpt something on a tablet and have it in your hands just a few hours later!! For me everything was an extremely steep learning curve but after the initial headaches it’s starting to all make sense, and I can’t wait to make more (and more complex) models - the possibilities are endless!

For whoever is interested in the process since I couldn’t really seem to find all the information in the same place, here are the sofwared I used:

• Sculpted entirely in Nomad
  • Decimated in Blender (to reduce the file size without losing the details)
  • Hollowed and repaired (to make sure it’s watertight) in Meshmixer
  • Supported and sliced in Lychee Slicer 3 Pro
  • Printed in Anycubic ceramic grey resin with an Anycubic Photon Mono X

13 Likes

Great!

Note that Nomad has a decimation tool (bottom of topology menu).
When I tested it, it usually gave slightly better result than the decimate modifier in blender (and faster). Did you have any issues with it?

Not issues but I did find the Blender one quite a bit better since it didn’t change the appearance of my model at all (and I decimated by 90% since my file was 150 MB and was aiming for 15). The Nomad one instead decreased the quality quite significantly