STL model modification without Voxelmeshing the model

Hi,
I’m quite new to Nomad, so please be kind with my new inquiry! :slight_smile:

I am playing tabletop wargames and for them I have acquired some STL models. I would like to magnetize my printed parts but the models themselves do not contain the “hole” for the magnets. The resin is quite brittle so post-processing with a drill is not advised.

I would like to create the hole in the STL for the magnets within Nomad.

I have already learned from YT that I could do that by creating a positive part for the magnet, then - after proper positioning - hideing it and “merging” the two parts. This merge however is re-meshing (voxel) the whole model, ruining the “finetuned” STL.

Is there a way to somehow do the boolean operation without remeshing the whole part?

Thanks in advance!

I don’t know another method. Have you tried to increase the voxel resolution? By default it is something like 150. Try above 800 depending on your machine this could avoid a lost. The higher, the more critical, so you need to test. After, use decimate function if you need lower resolution for printing.

I found this today i hope it’ll help you Nomad Sculpt - Keying without remesh - experimental (V1.65 - 9.4.2022) - YouTube

Thank you for the finding!
Only question here is how to selectively delete triangles from the surface?
In the video the quads are splitted into whatever shapes with the trimming / splitting plane.
I’ve tried reproducing but splitted several trias during trimming and ended up with quads…

Is it possible to select and delete specific trias or quads?

No there is no such possibility. Nomad is sculpting app. For operating on faces, vertexes and edges you have to use something like blender. But why do you want to rebuild topology? 3d printing doesnt care that much about topology especially resin printing(I’m familiar with that one)

I don’t.