Sculpting, painting and modifying

Hi there,

I am a digital painter for long years and I recently started to create a comic book in 2D in a very classic way. However, to get velocity and speed for my character designs I have started to sculpt in 3D first and then use my model in Procreate 5.2. What a new world I discovered, a real revelation! The more I dig the more I see the fantastic potential of using 3D … but, I am struggling a lot, especially with the following process : Sculpting > Exporting to Procreate to paint the model in 2D like and then export it back in Nomad for modifications and rendering.

I have few questions for the community about what I am trying to achieve:
1 - Should I do everything in Nomad (especially painting)? When I work on my sculpting from Nomad to Procreate and Procreate to Nomad, I am loosing my UV work :grimacing:
2 - Would you have any workflow or tips to help me achieving what I want, which basically is sculpting characters, painting 2D like style on it and then being able to move/sculpt/modify (body or face for instance) to use it in my comic book once rendered. Of course once I capture it to embed it in my comic book (basic PNG) I need to paint over and retouch it (usually done in Procreate) but I am mostly trying to optimize my process actually (and avoiding loosing time with UV issues :sweat_smile:).

Any tips/helps will be very very much appreciated :smiley:

Thank you all … community really rocks here!

Goku

2 Likes

funnily, I just came to the forum to write a somewhat similar post asking about some UV workflow and saw that you just posted yours! I guess it’s UVTuesday! :smile: I won’t hijack your thread and eagerly wait for comments on yours :wink:

I would say - switch to a desktop or tablet Computer!
Use blender for everything 3D - maybe for painting as well or use Clip Studio Ex for 2D, 3D composition and painting.