Merge objects into one for 3d printing?

Hello, newbie here… I’ve searched for this a few times but I don’t know the right lingo for what I’m asking.

I’d like to make my 3d model one big ol’ chunk of “clay” with a single mesh / topology / layer of normals, so it is simple for a 3d printer to understand.

Example: If I have a head and two spheres for eyeballs inside it, I want to get rid of the spheres EXCEPT for the front part showing between the eyelids, so there is only one object left: a head with a face. Nothing inside it. Like, an action figure head is just a single lump of molded plastic.

When doing a simple or voxel merge, it acts more like grouping objects together than combining them into one (I think…). So I could still pull the eyeball spheres out, and that’s not what I want.

If I cannot do this in Nomad Sculpt, is there another program with this feature, and what is the feature called? I’m okay with switching back and forth.

(I know 3d printer software can supposedly handle this, but sometimes I need to combine shapes into one object to make my sculpting process easier, too.)

Thanks for your help!

Simple merge keeps all of the geometry, but voxel merge does exactly what you’re asking for in combining everything into a single mesh.

Are you checking all the boxes next to each mesh you want merged?

Thank you SporkFuMaster! I tried it out and it worked! Yes, checking all boxes.

I think I was having trouble using voxel merge to combine five cylinders and a box (roughly, there was more detail of course) to make a hand. I couldn’t smooth-tool the connection between the two, it was still acting like separate objects and just sank into a sharper intersection instead of flattening out. So I assumed I’d done something wrong. Maybe there’s a trick to this? Maybe I actually only hit “simple merge,” though I swear I was trying to figure out both modes…