Best way to Print Toy from Nomad for injection molding

I am new to Nomad Scultp and started learning it for wanting to create small printed character toys.

What are some of the printing methods should I be searching for?

Eg 3D printing, toy model printing etc.

Thanks, any tips are welcome.

There are two main types of 3D printing widely available: FDM and SLA

They have pros and cons for various uses so one may be better than the other depending on the toys you want to make.

Another option, although generally more expensive, would be injection molding (how most toys are made). You can 3D print your own molds for injection molding but there are limitations.

Hopefully this gives you enough information to get you down a couple rabbit holes :wink:

Ah thanks for clarifying this, that is what I am looking at getting done (updated thread title). I wasn’t sure of the terminology to where to start searching so this is a big help.

So in general I might do a 3D test print to check the balance of the figure etc then go to someone who does injection molding?

Generally, yes. You could do some 3D printing and see how it looks, feels, etc. and then look for a manufacturer for injection molding.

Have you ever seen Crafsman Steady Craftin on YouTube? Great channel and he goes over his own journey in toy creation and explores various avenues. If you’re into tinkering/diy then it may be up your alley or I could be way off because I’m not sure what you’re trying to create :slight_smile:

His channel:

A couple videos that I thought of while reading your post:

3D printed Injection Mold:

Tabletop Injection Molder:

If you browse through his videos you’ll see quite a few different ways of injection molding as well. And lots of different ways to go about making simple toys and figures.

Let me know if I can help in any way or point you in another direction

1 Like

Thanks heaps for those vids, am checking them out.