Streaky bandy shadows

Bug reports… Hello I’m quite new to Nomad. I started using it around a month ago, and I think it’s an amazing program. Really awesome.

I’ve come across a problem. I was lighting a painted model, and I notice I get very dirty shadows that are grainy, bandy, and almost like stripes. I tried various lighting modes, like directional or spot, and that doesn’t fix it. I tried upping the resolution on renders, but I see the same banding as in real time.

The model started as an obj that I imported in, but since then I’ve modified it a lot, including remeshing, and the hair that’s casting the dirty shadows is something I created from scratch in Nomad. The only other thing I can think that would affect the shadows is the performance. I have 13.7M faces/vertices in the scene, and I’m on an iPad Pro 2020. Is this a possible reason? Is that too much?

I’m wondering if it’s a known issue and if there’s a workaround. I haven’t been able to find any other info on this topic. I’d appreciate anyone’s help. Ideally, I’m able to render out a scene with lighting all within Nomad so I don’t have to render in other programs. Thanks.

Here is an example of the problem. Uploading image. Thanks

And another view of the same area. It seems most pronounced here on the face as opposed to other areas. Not sure why.

Ambient occlusion, or reflection, or both. Just switch on off to find out. That’s when I experience this problem in certain cases on my iPad Pro 10,5” at least.

1 Like

Hello! Thank you for your response. I have verified that I get the problem whether Post Process is on or off. So, it’s not related to the AO or Reflections settings. Odd thing is that it’s most pronounced on the (imported) head of the character which has the most paint and texture detail on it. Any other recommendations would be helpful. I’m surprised nobody else is seeing what I see.