REQUEST: How would you solve this?

Hey there!

I’m new to Nomad and 3D sculpting in general. I am working on a creature with demonic wings.

How would you fill in the area marked by red pen?
I know I could use many different angled flattened cubes, but I am wondering if anyone has a smarter solution?

1 Like

A sphere or a cube scaled so that it is fn like a membrane then drag to give a more natural aspect and trim so that it adapts well. But I would start with a sphere rather than a cube so as not to be disturbed by the too clean and flat appearance of the cube.

Here is a quick test with a sphere.

1 Like

So with this method you’ve scaled up the sphere, placed it to fill the space, then cut around it? @Costorella_Stefano

I filled only one space I scaled then trimmed then I copied the membrane without the other space then I adjusted. but hey, there is a way to do something good, but here I was drafted for the example. 2 little tips: 1 - the sphere should not be too detailed, you can subdivide it afterwards and then to give a concave / convex aspect, do not forget to mask the borders at the level of where the membrane and the joints cross if not when you go to adjust the membranes will come out of their hanging position. In fact, I have a project on the way with this kind of wing as well, but it is by explaining to you that I have to think about this technique.

Alright, I appreciate the help. Will give it a go and post updates.

1 Like

I have often issues with these very thin objects with intersections. Means backside coming through mesh. So I prefer a plane and check

You can use a plane and check two sided ON in Material menu. Further more you need to display settings (the gear on left) search for “two sided” and uncheck “coloured backface”.

Now you can place and deform the plane to your needs.

This works till you are ready for detailing with I.e. veins.
If you would detail a plane, the other side would look inverted.