Recommendations on iPad specs for 3D workflow?

I currently have a base spec M1 iPad Pro, and am thinking about upgrading to the new M4 iPad Pro sometime. I’m still relatively new to 3D modeling and sculpting (I’ve been at it for about a year or so), and so I want to make sure that my next iPad upgrade will give me plenty of headroom for larger projects. So my question is, would I be fine with sticking with a base spec for the new M4 iPad Pro with 8GB of RAM? Or would it be smarter for me to bite the bullet and pay more for a model with 16GB of RAM? The 1TB of storage would be useful, but definitely not necessary, I would be perfectly fine with 256GB of storage. Would the extra RAM make a significant difference using Nomad (for things like project size/quality), or would it be negligible or the same? I would greatly appreciate your advice on this! :+1:t2:

I use 2 Ipad Pros that are still without an M processor.
I definitely don’t need a new Ipad with M4 or 16 GB RAM for sculpting with Nomad Sculpt.
Who makes scenes with 30-40 million vertices and then doesn’t use the Quadremesher or decimation?
All the apps I know and use run smoothly and without problems.
I won’t need a new iPad until the apps also need the M processors, e.g. for ray tracing …

I thought about it for a long time, but I really don’t need a new iPad for sculpting, because I can’t even get close to the limits at the moment - even with the old iPad Pros.

3 Likes

Have you tried maxing out your M1 8gb (I’ve got the same model) I find it can handle 16million polys pretty easily with x, y and z symmetry all activated. With a large radius move brush it lags a bit, but is still totally usable. There is still over 4gb ram free.