Evermore Adventures

Greetings! I have been lurking here a bit but, thought I should post something introductory. I played with some 3D stuff long ago (e.g., early versions of Bryce). More recently, I have done a little bit with Fusion360 for projects going through a laser cutter and, have made some minor modifications to models created by others with stuff like Meshmixer. I bounced off Blender a couple times, not finding it particularly intuitive. In March, I decided to make a concerted effort to get on top of Blender, putting in an hour or so a day. In May, I started playing with Nomad Sculpt to try to get some facility with more organic forms.

Constructive criticism welcome. I’m always happy to learn from people who know what they are doing.

I started with the SmallRobotStudio grimoire tutorial:

I also played with moving this into Blender and staged it in a low-poly dungeon scene I did in Blender.

Then, did another book with my own design elements. I exported UVs to Procreate, painted and textured and, imported back into Nomad (really looking forward to the next update where the UVs will save in Nomad).

4 Likes

My next sculpt in Nomad was this potion/perfume bottle. This one also went to Procreate for painting and texturing, then came back into Nomad for the translucent bottle and luminous liquid. This one is a little glitchy with an on/off lighting issue with the turntable and, the luminance (“unlit”) of the liquid only being visible from certain angles.

4 Likes

I used some macro shots I took of flowers from my garden as references to model these belles.

12 Likes

I made a video documenting the workflow I figured out for modeling Celtic knots in 3D with Nomad Sculpt, creating depth maps with them in Blender and, using those for 3D carvings on a laser and desktop CNC machine and, for making single image stereograms.

Shout out to @Holger_Schoenischka at 4:55 for his help.

More photos and the stereograms on my blog post here: Celtic Knots in 3D

8 Likes