Trying to colourise rust alpha'd texturing

Dear all,
Had a leisurely Sunday doing model nothing but Nomad and Shaper3d. Been enjoying learning about it all.

Anyway, im very new to texturing in general but having loads of fun discovering all the options to influence the bump and add depth to surfaces. Such a great piece of software, loads of fun.

So my question is this:

The painting (ability to paint on surfaces) workflow is not too natural to me. It’s fantastic over as I said, but I find myself going round in circles trying to achieve something.

—i have a simple cube, which I made semi-reflective, it’s grey, so it gets a silver’ish appearance (basically as metal looking find 3) which I then added cross-hatch pattering too using a brush (created a raised topology).

I then found a decent alpha brush ‘rust’ which I applied to the edges of the face of the cube.

All going well. I made those parts somewhat rougher as rust is not so shiny obviously.

So those parts are basically the same rust alpha, but matte.

I show my buddy and he says, cool, try n introduce some more orange and brown rust.

Great idea I say, so I’m dinking around in the options but I can’t seem to work out how to add organge bits to it.

What would be amazing (if possible)??? would be if I’m able to add orange colouring to the ‘higher raised’ parts. In essence, to resemble hour rust properly looks in real life.

At first it’s just corroded metal, and then after time it becomes orange/brown coloured into it’s so flaky it can be picked off (etc…)

I understand it may not be possible to create it to that degree of detail, but even if I’m and to add some orange and brown, that would be singing 5.

I just can’t fit the life of me work out how, can anyone comment on what I’m doing wrong?